Why We Hate Club Penguin

Dear god, why am I posting so much philosophy posts. And this is my second this summer, and for a retiree, that’s alot. Anyway, recently I’ve been getting nostalgic, and you know, you go back into your past and when you played CP for awhile, it does get nostalgic. So, this is a post why we hate the game, Club Penguin.

If you only started playing Club Penguin because of armies, you don’t really know how good CP was back in the day. If you started playing CP past 2009 when it started going downhill (no pun intended for K00lKyle), you don’t really know how good CP was back in the day. For a four year old, it was like my wonderland. I originally started playing CP back in 2006, after watching my brother playing it, and after he got annoyed because I was using his account, I got my own account in early 2007. Club Penguin was a great game, with a great community. The monthly parties were outstanding, and dressing my penguin up and buying igloos, b0y was it fun. I mean, there was tons of things that you don’t see today – role-playing. There were tons of people going to the Pizza Parlor, and dressing up as waiters, or food inspectors, piano players, or managers. People yelling in the town “Restaurant at my Igloo!” The restaurant they decorated and came up with was flat out amazing. I mean, there’s nothing more to it. It was just, fun. And then came Disney, who bought the company from Horizon Interactive who were losing money, and came the downhill Club Penguin. With this move, a company like Horizon Interactive making a great game in what was Club Penguin, and now Disney getting the chance to move the game up into newer heights, dang, Club Penguin had a bright future. Club Penguin did well in their first full year, in 2008. It was actually fun. The water party was fun, alongside with the stage opening, and it seemed like CP was doing well. Then came 2009, and well, let’s say it didn’t go well from there. Disney thought that since CP was a success, they thought Disney could feed off of their success, and have a great game, plus a better company. So there came in all this Disney crap, spamming the word Disney on the screen everywhere you went. And every year, it keeps getting worse. Now either Disney did this because they wanted their company to be more successful with this, or they did it so they could attract more children with the single word “Disney”.

Both doors seem to be a reliable option. I mean, we can’t just say Disney ripped open the doors of Club Penguin and just said that they wanted to take over the game and make it help succeed their company. Attracting children is what Disney said that they’ve been trying to do, and indeed it has succeeded. It’s more of a kids game now, like, little kids. I mean, for god’s sake they’ve spammed some Disney characters onto Club Penguin to excite more kids, and to advertise their company while they’re at it. It’s not a surprise that Disney’s become money pigs, as Club Penguin’s motto used to be “Waddle around and meet new friends!”, and now it’s “Membership means more!”. Boom goes another ten or twenty dollars out of people’s pockets, for ONE membership. And it’s caused the members, the six year olds to go insane on the non-members, calling them “noobs” and all. I mean, it’s all about popularity, who was which item. If I were to log on to my brother’s 2006 account right now, and put on some rare hoodies and party hats, the entire server would crowd me. Like armies, it’s become a popularity game for kids. I thought wigs were ok at first, like the spiked up ones, but now they’ve become too darn stylish. The wigs almost look stupid on a penguin. They don’t even look like a penguin anymore! I mean, then they ruined PSA, and started up EPF, taking away the Sports Shop. The catalogs look like Disney characters, literally. Don’t believe me? Take a wild guess at who this is.

Take a look at the two pictures. There’s a bigger difference than graphics. The styles are different, the penguins look different, the whole appearance of what Club Penguin was is different. It’s become a Disney-fied game. Attracting kids has taken over the minds of Disney, and now the loyal ones from 2006 have to suffer. Am I making this too overly dramatic? If I am, sorry, just, tell me I need to be in a reenactment of the Titanic. Anyways, it’s really gone downhill. Club Penguin honestly ignores the voices from the ones who have loved Club Penguin before they even knew what it was, and it honestly makes me lose so much respect for them. Another comparison. I will show you the difference between the town in 2007 and 2014.

2007 Club Penguin

2014 Club Penguin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There’s a huge difference. First off, everyone has much more slick clothing, unlike that guy who has a flipping strawberry costume near the Night Club, and the buildings look much more penguin realistic unlike today, and the community is much more clustered, unlike the other picture, where the penguins just sit there, and show off their wig and their stupid little orange puffle. I mean, it’s become absurd. Cars and dinosaurs on an island? What? That’s not even abnormal. The igloo creations were better, and people were much more creative. Now it’s about showing off, and back then it was much more funner when people roleplayed, and showed off igloos instead of fashion. I mean, it was much more fun, the parties were much more fun, and they didn’t include some stupid Marvel Party, alongside with the crew of some TV show Shake It Up on there. Igloos man, that’s what everyone used to brag about. Not some stupid wig you bought at the Gift Shop, and at least when people did brag about something they bought at the gift shop it was more impressive than a Hannah Montanah costume. The videos were more creative back then on CP, and I think the igloo items, and clothing items were much better than today.

I mean, the baby reenactments, they KILLED me. It was probably a six year old taking care of an eight year old for all we know. At the puffle shop, you expect to buy a cool, black puffle, and you see a baby getting adopted by some soccer mom. Geez it scared me.

here you have it. My Club Penguin rant. Yes, I know, what am I, to be twelve and ranting about a game now made for 5 year olds. Heh, back then they really did mean it when they said 6-14 years of age allowed. Reality is, Club Penguin has been ruined by stupid Disney creations, and making the game much more unrealistic and too much Disney-fied. If you didn’t join CP before Disney became insane, here is what you missed out on.

I probably missed a hundred million pictures, and I probably missed a hundred million things why CP was great and why it’s bad now. Thanks for reading.

-Chillie17

6 comments on “Why We Hate Club Penguin

  1. As I go down walking memory lane I stumble upon the rantings of a young mans childhood. XD Hey dude! šŸ˜€ I was updating my old army advertising site and found a link to here. Much to my surprise some old friends are still around.

    Club Penguin was very good to me as well, although I joined after Disney had bought it. I have seen it grow and I can’t say I dislike it. The Disney influence is somewhat of a disappointment but I have to say that I would rather have today’s Club Penguin than no Club Penguin at all. The closure of Lego Universe was a big let down. :[ The closure of Pandanda and then Minimonos and Webosaurs were all heart breaks. I think today’s kids are lucky to have a great place like Club Penguin to play on. Disney will continue to use it as a way to advertise since they do own it. The kids will continue to role play just like they did in the good old days but it won’t be as new or fresh as it was when it started. Your lucky to of had the time when Club Penguin was just beginning to flourish. Anyways these are just the rants of an old friend.

    Stay cool šŸ™‚

    • Hey Frothe, didn’t think you would find this. Yeah, the reason I ranted on CP is because like you, I was walking down Memory Lane, and this idea grew into my mind. I do agree Disney did save CP for another seven and continuing years, but CP started to decline for the ones that stayed around long enough. Indeed, it is a children paradise. Walk into the library, you will see kids playing that game on the computer. However, it does benefit a younger age group and the ones about 10+ won’t neccessarily find it attractive. Thanks for commenting.

      -Chillie17

  2. The memories.

    I joined back in late 2007 (don’t know exact date) and boy, was it great. Everyone welcomed me into the community politely, it was like I was meant to be there. The Water Party, simple clothing, PSA missions, it felt like it would never end. Then Disney came and screwed up everything. I tried to keep on what had made Club Penguin so fascinating. Heck, I even joined the CPFW. But nowadays, everyone kept following me asking me if I was a hacker or trying to get me to tell them some game tips. I just couldn’t handle it. So I had to let him go.

    R.I.P Slidur 2007-2014

    • Yeah man, CP was some good times. Chillie17 got banned sometime in 2014 forever since he was inactive for over a year. But technically he’s a 3,000 day old penguin.. so yeah? I know the exact date.
      February 2nd, 2007. Good times. Spent many years of that game, and I thank it for being an outlet for my fun.

Reply to this post